Americas Rally Cross 2018 Champions

New series. New tracks. New opponents. Same result. Volkswagen Andretti Rallycross and Scott Speed continued their dominance in the sport of rallycross, with Speed and the team winning a fourth-consecutive championship. 

The first ever Americas Rallycross (ARX) season began across the ocean, competing in Silverstone, UK, as part of the popular Speedmachine festival. Fan-favorite Tanner Foust shined throughout the weekend, adding the title of first ARX winner to his already impressive driving resume. 

Speed didn't let Foust stay on the top of the podium for long, taking victory at the Circuit of the Americas during the first ARX race on American soil. The Beetles then headed north of the border, where Speed made it back-to-back wins at Canada's historic Circuit Trois-Riviéres in Quebec. 

The VARX team then took a brief detour to Salt Lake City, Utah, where both drivers took part in the inaugural Nitro Rallycross competition at Travis Pastrana's Nitro World Games. The non-points event created plenty of highlights and thrills for fans but a Lap 1 accident took Speed out of the final and Foust had to settle for a podium finish in third. 

With both Volkswagen Andretti Rallycross drivers only separated by nine championship points, all eyes were on Speed and Foust as they headed into the season finale at Circuit of the Americas. Foust looked like the driver to beat all weekend, finishing first in every session on track before eventually winning the final. However, after struggling early in the event, Speed got the results he needed and won his semifinal - locking up the inaugural Americas Rallycross title. 

unnamed (1).png
unnamed (2).png
chris corbin